Practice Better Alternatives
Six Practice Better alternatives compared on price, meal planning and payments, for dietitians and coaches weighing a switch. Prices checked on 28 September 2026.

How do these Practice Better alternatives compare?
Prices checked on each company's own pricing page on 28 September 2026; they change, so confirm before you buy. Figures are monthly billing unless stated otherwise.
- Best for
- Clinical practitioners wanting a cheaper entry point
- Cheapest paid plan
- $19/mo (Core, 10 active clients)
- Meal planning
- Via Living Plate Rx integration, Plus and up
- Best for
- Meal plans only, no practice management
- Cheapest paid plan
- $30/mo (Starter, 10 client shares)
- Meal planning
- Native, 8,000+ recipes
- Best for
- Meal plans, telehealth and payments in one price
- Cheapest paid plan
- $25/mo promo (10 customers/month)
- Meal planning
- Native, with automated nutrient breakdowns
- Best for
- A ready-made meal plan library for trainers
- Cheapest paid plan
- From $59/mo (Pro, 50 to 500 clients)
- Meal planning
- Native, 4,400+ pre-built plans
- Best for
- Photo food logging with AI analysis
- Cheapest paid plan
- Not published
- Meal planning
- Not confirmed
- Best for
- Nutrition and training together
- Cheapest paid plan
- $49/mo (Plus, 50 active clients)
- Meal planning
- Native, from the entry plan
| App | Best for | Cheapest paid plan | Meal planning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Healthie | Clinical practitioners wanting a cheaper entry point | $19/mo (Core, 10 active clients) | Via Living Plate Rx integration, Plus and up |
| That Clean Life | Meal plans only, no practice management | $30/mo (Starter, 10 client shares) | Native, 8,000+ recipes |
| Nutrium | Meal plans, telehealth and payments in one price | $25/mo promo (10 customers/month) | Native, with automated nutrient breakdowns |
| Evolution Nutrition | A ready-made meal plan library for trainers | From $59/mo (Pro, 50 to 500 clients) | Native, 4,400+ pre-built plans |
| MealLogger | Photo food logging with AI analysis | Not published | Not confirmed |
| Scraler | Nutrition and training together | $49/mo (Plus, 50 active clients) | Native, from the entry plan |
Why do practitioners look for a Practice Better alternative?
Practice Better packs scheduling, billing, telehealth and client journaling into one system, and its Sprout plan is free for up to 3 clients. Practitioners who look elsewhere are usually reacting to one gap, not the platform as a whole.
- Meal planning is not native. It runs through the That Clean Life integration, a separate subscription starting at $30/month on top of your Practice Better plan.
- Team pricing charges per practitioner. Team is $155/month for 2 practitioners, then $50/month for each additional one, up to 200.
- Clinical add-ons stack up. AI Charting Assistant starts at $10/month per practitioner, ePrescribe is $49/month plus a $99 onboarding fee, and PDMP is $5/month plus a $399 onboarding fee.
None of that makes Practice Better a bad choice for a multi-service practice. It means the right alternative depends on whether you actually use its clinical tools or mainly want meal plans and macro coaching.
Healthie: a cheaper entry point into the same category
- Cheapest plan
- $19/mo (Core)
- Clients included
- 10 active
- Meal planning
- Via Living Plate Rx (Plus and up)
- Payments
- 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction
Healthie is the closest like-for-like option: an EHR style platform whose plans scale by active client count, starting well below Practice Better's Starter plan (more in our Healthie alternatives guide). Core covers scheduling, payments, charting, telehealth and a client portal for up to 10 active clients, with a 14 day trial of the Plus plan and no card required.
Meal planning is not native here either: it runs through a Living Plate Rx integration that needs the Plus plan or higher plus a separate Living Plate Rx membership. Its Edamam-powered food database, over 900,000 items, covers macro and micronutrient logging inside Journaling.
- Meal planning still needs a separate Living Plate Rx membership on top of Plus
- Unlimited clients needs the Plus plan at $129/month
- ClaimMD insurance claims cost from $30/month extra plus a setup fee
- Entry plan is $16/month cheaper than Practice Better's Starter
- 14 day trial of Plus, no card required
- Edamam-powered food logging tracks macros and micronutrients per entry
That Clean Life: meal plans only, no practice management
- Cheapest plan
- $30/mo (Starter)
- Client shares
- 10
- Recipe database
- 8,000+ recipes
- Practice management
- None, meal plans only
That Clean Life is Practice Better's own meal planning product, acquired in 2023 and still sold and run as a standalone tool. Starter covers 10 client shares for $30/month, billed monthly only, with no free trial.
Plus removes the share limit and adds 150 plus templates, over 100 recipe filters and automation for generating plans from calories, macros and diet type, priced at $60/month or an annual plan working out to $35/month. Its official pages show no native client app, food logging or telehealth: clients get a secure link to an interactive web view or a branded PDF.
- No client mobile app; clients get a link or a PDF export
- No food logging, telehealth or payments feature
- No free trial
- Purpose-built meal planning with 8,000+ recipes and automatic nutrient breakdowns
- If meal plans are all you need, $30/month costs less than Practice Better Starter plus That Clean Life
- Integrates directly back into Practice Better if you want both
Nutrium: meal plans, telehealth and payments in one price
- Cheapest plan
- $25/mo promo (10 customers)
- Trial
- 14 days, all plans
- Telehealth
- Native video, plus Zoom and Google Meet
- Payments
- Stripe, included on every plan
Nutrium bundles meal planning, food logging and telehealth in one subscription, with payments built into every plan through Stripe rather than sold separately. Its 10 customers per month plan starts at $25/month, or $15/month equivalent on the annual plan at $179/year.
Those prices are promotional for the first year or first 12 monthly payments only; the regular rate is roughly double. The unlimited-client plan runs $39/month monthly, or $299/year annual under the same first-year condition. Every plan includes native video consultations and AI-generated session summaries.
- Advertised prices are first-year promotions, not the ongoing rate
- Regular pricing runs close to double the promo rate
- Unlimited clients is $39/month promo, listed at $79/month once the first year ends
- Payments built into every plan through Stripe, not an add-on
- Native telehealth with Zoom and Google Meet integration plus AI call summaries
- 14 day trial on every plan
Evolution Nutrition: a meal plan library for coaches who train clients too
- Cheapest plan
- From $59/mo (Pro)
- Clients included
- 50 to 500
- Meal plan library
- 4,400+ plans, 22 diet types
- Telehealth
- Not stated
Evolution Nutrition sells a meal plan library rather than practice management software. Pro starts from $59/month for 50 to 500 clients, giving full editing access to more than 4,400 pre-built meal plans across 22 diet types, built by the company's registered dietitians.
There is no published trial, and telehealth, macro tracking and payments are not mentioned on its pricing or feature pages. Treat this as a meal plan content library to plug into your own coaching, not a like-for-like Practice Better replacement for charting or booking.
- No stated free trial
- Telehealth, food logging and payments are unconfirmed on official pages
- Built for training businesses, not clinical practitioners
- 4,400+ RD-built meal plans across 22 diet types, ready to assign
- Client self-service portal included
- Pro spans 50 to 500 clients; Enterprise from $199/month goes past 1,000 with multiple trainers
MealLogger: photo food logging, no published pricing
- Cheapest plan
- Not published
- Editions
- Solo to Enterprise
- Food logging
- Photo journaling plus AI analysis
- Trial
- Not stated
MealLogger publishes no pricing at all. Solo, Research, Business and Enterprise editions are all sold by contacting the company directly, aimed at everyone from an individual dietitian to healthcare organisations and insurers.
Its strength is client-facing photo food journaling with AI nutrition analysis on each photo, plus device integration and coach feedback tools. Its site does not publish scheduling, billing, telehealth or charting features, so ask before assuming it covers them.
- No public pricing, so cost cannot be compared without contacting sales
- No stated free trial
- No meal plan builder or recipe database confirmed
- Photo-based food logging with AI macro analysis
- Scales from a solo practitioner to enterprise editions
- Device integration included
Scraler: nutrition and training together, no clinical tools
- Cheapest plan
- $49/mo (Plus)
- Clients included
- 50 active
- Meal planning
- Native, from Plus
- Payments
- Stripe, from Premium ($69/mo)
Scraler is coaching software built around training and nutrition together, not clinical practice management: charting, ePrescribe and insurance billing are not on its feature list. Plus includes a native meal plan builder, recipes and cookbooks, macro and wearable tracking, check-ins, chat and scheduling from $49/month for up to 50 active clients, with archived clients excluded from the cap.
Premium raises the cap to 100 active clients and adds AI meal plan and recipe generation, community and Stripe payments under one price. Telehealth video calling is not on its feature list either, and the 14 day trial needs a card on file, though nothing is charged until it ends. Coaches who also program workouts for clients can compare that wider category in the online coaching platforms guide.
- Telehealth video consultations are not on its feature list
- No clinical charting, ePrescribe or insurance billing on its feature list
- The trial needs a card, unlike Healthie's
- Meal plans, macro tracking, recipes and training programming in one client app from the entry plan
- Archived clients do not count against the plan cap
- Ultimate adds a white-label client app in the App Store and Google Play
How do you migrate off Practice Better?
Before you cancel, export what Practice Better lets you take out and ask the new vendor exactly what it can import. Plan on rebuilding your templates and programmes on whichever tool you move to, starting with your highest-value clients.
Scraler's switch page is a free service that rebuilds clients, workouts and meal plans, though it is built around Trainerize, TrueCoach, Everfit and My PT Hub exports rather than Practice Better's own format, so confirm compatibility with the team first. The nutrition coaching software guide compares these options from a different angle if you are still deciding.
Meal plans, macro tracking, recipes, check-ins and training programming in one client app, with payments from Premium. Fourteen days free, card on file, nothing charged unless you stay past the trial.
Start free trialFrequently asked questions
- Who are Practice Better's main competitors for nutrition coaching?
- It depends on which gap you are filling. Healthie is the closest clinical competitor and a cheaper clinical entry point, Nutrium bundles meal plans, telehealth and payments in one price, That Clean Life keeps meal planning without practice management overhead, and Scraler suits coaches who also want a training programme builder.
- Is there a free alternative to Practice Better?
- Practice Better's own Sprout plan is free for up to 3 clients. Among the alternatives here with published prices, none has a comparable free-forever tier. Healthie and Nutrium both offer a 14 day trial (Healthie's needs no card), That Clean Life has no trial, and Scraler's 14 day trial needs a card on file but charges nothing until it ends.
- Does Practice Better include meal planning?
- Not natively. It connects to That Clean Life, a separate subscription starting at $30/month, for meal plans and its recipe database, though the integration itself is free.
- Which of these alternatives include telehealth like Practice Better?
- Healthie includes telehealth from its $19/month Core plan and adds group telehealth on Plus. Nutrium includes native video consultations on every plan. That Clean Life shows no telehealth feature, Evolution Nutrition and MealLogger do not publish one, and telehealth is not on Scraler's feature list.
- Which Practice Better alternatives take client payments?
- Healthie processes payments on every plan at 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction. Nutrium includes Stripe payments on every plan at no extra software cost, with per-transaction service and payout fees. Scraler adds Stripe payments from Premium ($69/month). That Clean Life shows no payments feature, and Evolution Nutrition and MealLogger do not publish one.
- What happens to my client records if I leave Practice Better?
- Most platforms expect you to export and rebuild rather than import automatically. Scraler's switch page is a free migration service, but it is built around Trainerize, TrueCoach, Everfit and My PT Hub exports, not Practice Better's own format, so confirm compatibility first.




