ScralerScraler
Guides

How to Become a Health Coach: Certifications, Pay and Getting Clients

To become a health coach, complete a training program, ideally one approved by the NBHWC, and start with your first clients. IIN's program is $4,195 at the early enrollment price. The NBHWC board exam adds $500 in fees. Payscale puts average health coach pay at $25.74 an hour.

Tim de JongCo-founder of Scraler8 min read
How to become a health coach in 2026: IIN program $4,195 at the early enrollment price, NBHWC board exam fees $500, 50 coaching sessions, Payscale average pay $25.74 an hour
In short
  • No government agency requires a health coach certification, according to IIN. The NBHWC board certification is the national standard many coaches aim for.
  • Board certification needs an NBHWC-approved program, 50 coaching sessions, a degree or 4,000 work hours, and $500 in application and exam fees.
  • Program prices differ widely: IIN is $4,195 at the early enrollment price against $6,595 list, and Precision Nutrition Level 1 is $999 at its presale price ($119 a month for 12 months otherwise).
  • Payscale averages $25.74 an hour for health coaches. The BLS has no health coach category, so we use a nearby job and label it.

A health coach helps people change habits: movement, sleep, stress and food. This guide covers what a health coach does, which certifications exist and what they cost, how board certification works, what coaches earn and how to coach clients online. Every market figure was read on its source page on 8 October 2026. Anything we calculated is a worked example. If your focus is food, read our guide to how to become a nutrition coach alongside this one.

What does a health coach do?

A health coach works with a client on goals the client chooses, and turns them into small weekly actions. A session might cover a client's sleep routine, a plan for two walks a week or a way to stop skipping breakfast. The coach asks questions, keeps notes, checks progress and adjusts the plan. The work is closer to behavior change than to treatment. The NBHWC's training content areas include coaching presence, theories and models of behavior change, skills and tools, ethics and professional practice, and health and wellness knowledge.

The titles overlap. You will see health coach, health and wellness coach and holistic health coach, and IIN describes its program as a holistic wellness one. A nutrition coach focuses on eating, and our comparison of a dietitian, nutritionist and nutrition coach explains where each title stops. A health coach does not replace a doctor or a registered dietitian.

Do you need a certification to be a health coach?

No government agency requires a health coach certification, according to IIN on its own program page. Some US states do restrict who can give individual nutrition advice, so check your state's rules; this is general information, not legal advice. What exists instead is a choice between school certificates, which any provider can issue, and national board certification through the NBHWC, which sets education and experience requirements and an exam. A coach with a board credential has something concrete to show a client or an employer. A coach with only a school certificate has the school's name.

What is the best health coach certification?

The right program depends on whether you want board certification. A program that is NBHWC-approved counts toward the exam requirement. A program that is not may still teach useful coaching skills, but it does not open the exam on its own. Check the NBHWC directory of more than 138 approved programs before you pay.

Health coach certification programs and the NBHWC board exam. Checked 8 October 2026.
IIN Health Coach Training Program
Price
$4,195 early price, $6,595 list
Length
6 or 12 months, online
NBHWC
Approved for its Coaching Intensive Practicum ($1,595 early price, 3 months)
Precision Nutrition Level 1
Price
$999 presale, or $119 a month for 12
Length
Self-paced, about 3 to 5 hours a week
NBHWC
Not stated on its page
ACE Health Coach
Price
$49 down, payment plan (total not shown)
Length
As few as 3 to 6 months
NBHWC
Not stated on its page

IIN is the best known. Its Health Coach Training Program is 100% online on a 6 or 12 month track, at about 5 to 8 hours a week. The early enrollment price is $4,195 against a $6,595 list price, with payments from $175 a month. IIN says the NBHWC approval applies to its Coaching Intensive Practicum, which runs 3 months and was listed at $1,595 against $2,195. Both graduates of its program and other people can take that practicum. The prices change with promotions, so check before you buy.

Precision Nutrition Level 1 is a self-paced, nutrition-focused certification. Its facts page lists $999 as a one-time presale price or $99 a month for 12 months, and $119 a month for 12 months otherwise. ACE offers a Health Coach certification for people 18 or older with a high school diploma and a current CPR and AED certificate. Its study programs start with a $49 first payment on a payment plan; the page does not show the full price. We did not see NBHWC approval stated on either page, so check the directory if board certification matters to you. If you would rather start from fitness, see personal trainer certification.

How do you choose a health coach program?

  • NBHWC approval. If you want board certification, the program or one of its courses must be approved. IIN lists approvals from the NBHWC, ICF, the Health Coach Alliance and HCANZA, but the NBHWC route runs through its practicum.
  • Total cost. Add the program, any practicum, exam fees ($500 for the NBHWC exam) and CPR if required. A $4,195 program plus a $1,595 practicum plus $500 in exam fees is $6,290 at early enrollment prices, as a worked example.
  • Time. IIN estimates 5 to 8 hours a week on its standard track and 10 to 16 on the accelerated one. Check the weekly hours against your job.
  • Practice. Look for supervised coaching practice, because the board exam needs 50 logged sessions.
  • Support after. Check for a directory listing, a community and continuing education.

How do you become a board certified health coach?

The NBHWC awards the NBC-HWC credential, National Board Certified Health and Wellness Coach. The path has four parts:

  1. 1
    Approved program

    Finish an NBHWC-approved training program, from certificate to master's level.

  2. 2
    50 coaching sessions

    Log 50 sessions. They must happen after you pass the skills assessment in your program.

  3. 3
    Education

    An associate's degree or higher in any field, or 60 college credits with an attestation, or 4,000 hours of work experience.

  4. 4
    Apply and sit the exam

    $100 application fee and $400 exam fee, in a fixed exam window.

The fees total $500, and the application fee is non-refundable. Exam windows run a few times a year, for example 30 November to 14 December 2026 (applications by 12 October 2026), then March and July 2027; check the NBHWC page for the next one. Applications can take up to 30 days to process, so apply early. The session requirement is the part many people underestimate, because you need real clients to log them. One way to find them is a free or low-cost pilot group.

How much does a health coach make?

Payscale lists an average of $25.74 an hour for a health coach, based on 277 profiles updated 28 May 2026. The 10th percentile is $18.40 an hour and the 90th is $47.50. Total pay, which includes bonuses and commission, ranges from $41,000 to $90,000 a year. Entry-level coaches under a year in the job average $18.05 an hour in total pay.

The BLS has no health coach category. The nearest is health education specialists. According to O*NET, using BLS 2025 data, they have a median of $64,070 a year, with the lowest 10% at $42,990 and the top 10% at $118,200. It is a different job, so use it as context only.

Health coach pay from Payscale and the BLS, plus a worked example. Checked 8 October 2026.

Private practice depends on clients and price. These are worked examples, not survey data, at $200 a month. Fifteen clients is $3,000 a month, or $36,000 a year before tax and costs. Twenty-five clients is $5,000 a month, or $60,000 a year. Our nutrition coach pricing guide shows what online coaches charge and how to build packages.

How do you coach health clients online?

Online health coaching is a loop of goals, habits and check-ins. Set one to three habits at a time, write them down (a free habit tracker works), and review them weekly. Keep the list short enough that the client can follow it in a busy week. Screen new clients with a health questionnaire such as a PAR-Q, and refer anyone with a medical concern to their doctor first. The free macro calculator gives a starting point when food targets come up, and our guide to a personalized nutrition plan shows how to build one.

Scraler holds the habits, the weekly check-in, chat and, if you want it, a meal plan in one client app, so you are not stitching together a spreadsheet, a messaging app and a payment link. Plus is $49 a month (€39 or £39) for up to 50 clients, with limited AI generation each month. Premium is $69 a month (€59 or £59) for up to 100 clients and adds unlimited AI generation, Stripe payments and a landing page builder. If you are comparing tools, see nutrition coaching software and online coaching platforms.

Track habits and weekly check-ins in one place

Give clients a daily habit list, collect weekly check-ins and keep the conversation in chat.

See the habit tracking features

How do you get your first health coaching clients?

Pick one client type you can describe in a sentence, for example busy parents who want a sleep and walking routine. Offer a three month package with a fixed price, run a small pilot to log your first coaching sessions, and ask pilot clients for a written testimonial. Then use your network, local groups and a simple page. Our guide to personal trainer marketing covers ways to find clients, and how to start a personal training business covers insurance, contracts and registration, most of which applies to a health coaching business too.

Frequently asked questions

How do I become a health coach?
Complete a health coach training program, ideally one approved by the NBHWC if you want board certification, then take your first clients. For the board exam you also need 50 coaching sessions, an associate's degree or 60 credits or 4,000 work hours, and $500 in fees.
How much does health coach certification cost?
Programs vary: IIN's Health Coach Training Program is $4,195 at the early enrollment price against $6,595 list, Precision Nutrition Level 1 is $999 at presale or $119 a month for 12 months, and ACE lists payment plans starting at $49 today. The NBHWC board exam adds a $100 application fee and a $400 exam fee.
Do health coaches need to be certified?
No government agency requires a health coach certification, according to IIN. Some US states restrict who can give individual nutrition advice, so check your state's rules; this is general information, not legal advice. Board certification through the NBHWC is the national standard coaches pursue if they want an independent credential.
How long does it take to become a health coach?
IIN's program runs 6 or 12 months. ACE says you can certify in as few as 3 to 6 months. Board certification adds 50 coaching sessions and an exam in a fixed window, and applications can take up to 30 days to process.
How much do health coaches make?
Payscale lists an average of $25.74 an hour, with a 10th to 90th percentile range of $18.40 to $47.50 and total pay of $41,000 to $90,000 a year. In private practice, 15 clients at $200 a month is $36,000 a year as a worked example.

Keep reading

How to Become a Health Coach: Certification and Pay | Scraler